Reevona

When it was time to photograph Reevona for the blog, she asked if her picture could be taken with Wellspring’s Children’s Corner Coordinator, Yi Yang. She is 12 years old and has been coming to Wellspring since she was “little.”

What does Wellspring mean to you?

“It helps people when they are in need and it is something for people to come do in the morning,” she said. “My experience with being here is that they’ve helped me with stuff that my mom couldn’t pay for and some stuff that my mom didn’t have for me and my sisters. They helped us which made me real thankful because if I didn’t have them I don’t know if I would have been able to do most of the stuff that I got to do during my elementary school education.”

How did they help you in elementary school?

“So in 5th grade, I went on an end of the year trip and they helped supply some of the materials that I needed to have with me when I went,” she said. “They helped me get some school supplies. Most of the time I can thank Genelle [Wellspring’s social worker] for doing it because she is the one who helps me all the time. I’ve been here since I was a little kid. I remember when I was smaller and younger, they’ve always helped me.”

Did you play in the children’s corner with Yi?

“Yes,” Reevona said. “I got to meet new people. Everyday I came, Yi always helped me when I needed help doing something over there. I’ve always thanked her for being nice and helping us in the kid’s center.”

IMG_5963
Yi providing technical assistance to the children of Wellspring. She has worked in the children’s corner for eight years.

What do you want to do when you get older?

“I really don’t know yet,” she said.

What is your favorite thing to do with your mom and your sisters?

“I like to talk to them about what we are going to do for the day or have a family nap with them,” she said.

What does your mom mean to?

“She and my dad mean everything to me because they always give me what I need,” Reevona said. “And they always help with the things that I need help with that other people couldn’t help me with. And I thank my mom because if I didn’t have her I wouldn’t be here right now.”

Is there anything else that you would like to share?

“I thank Wellspring.”

Donate to Wellspring

Leave a Reply

