Barbara

IMG_6665

Barbara has been coming to Wellspring for two years.

She is crocheting a blanket for her “adopted grandma.”

FullSizeRender (1)

“She doesn’t know that she is getting it,” Barbara said.

“When my mother passed away, she turned around and said, ‘I want to make you my daughter,’” Barbara said. ” I take her shopping. I open doors for her. I walk with her. I help guide her in case she needs balance. I take her to get her mail and then I take her back home. I took her under my wings and she took me under her wings. She never had any children.”

“I’m always helping older people because there are a lot of people out here who will take advantage of them,” she said. “When I ain’t checking on them, I’m calling them because God puts us all in different places. People don’t understand that if you listen to the elder, there is wisdom. They have more life experience than us. They can guide us.”

“When we bleed, we bleed the same color,” she said. “We all have each other’s DNA. We don’t know who we might need so we have to learn not to mistreat other people.”

Barbara leads a prayer line from her home every morning.

“This area needs lots of prayers,” she said. “We get up every morning at 5 o’clock and we hook 10 to 12 people to a telephone chain. I always ask for prayer requests.”

What does crocheting mean to you?

“It’s mind relaxation,” she said. “It blocks out all the negative and puts it into positive.”

What inspired you to make the quilt?

“Wellspring,” she said. “I love Wellspring because it has a lot of positive energy.”

 Donate to Wellspring

Leave a Reply

